July 24, 2014

This Week's SFR Picks

Newsletters

Choose your newsletter(s):
* indicates required

SFR Events

Special Issues

 

 
Home / Articles / Music /  Music Features

Lounge Act

Music Features Why all the sudden interest in Nirvana? Well, besides that they are one of my favorite bands of all time—and I’m still seething with the rage that comes from not having been at this show despite complaints ...

Wednesday, December 4, 2013 Alex De Vore

David & Goliath

In which Santa Fe is Goliath and musician/transplant David Tardy tries to save us from ourselves

Music Features “It’s funny,” David Tardy tells me. “When you asked a moment ago if it was challenging to insert my music into the local scene, I thought to myself, ‘What scene?’” Woah. Let me go ba

Tuesday, November 26, 2013 Alex De Vore

Come Together... Right Now!

Santa Fe Music Alliance is totally on your side

Music Features Following the New Mexico Lawyers for the Arts Business of Music Summit, I, like a lot of people, found myself wondering what the hell the Santa Fe Music Alliance (SFMA) has been doing. The ragtag grou

Tuesday, November 19, 2013 Alex De Vore

Dancing With Molly

5 Reasons why Molly’s Kitchen is becoming SF’s coolest venue

Music Features Molly’s Kitchen & Lounge (1611 Calle Lorca, 983-7577) is straight-up amazing. For music, I mean.  Y’see, like a million other people who had driven past the restaurant while heading to The C

Wednesday, November 13, 2013 Alex De Vore

Building a Better Scene

Can’t we all just get along?

Music Features Meet Talia Kosh, the founder of local non-profit organization New Mexico Lawyers for the Arts and all-around do-gooder. Kosh founded NMLFA in 2008 to provide pro-bono advice to New Mexico artists, filmmakers an...

Wednesday, November 6, 2013 Alex De Vore

We Aren’t Post Anything!

As In We’s new release showcases maturity and a whole hell of a lot of styles

Music Features It’s a slow build, an almost grungy guitar riff. Atmospheric harmonics swell in the background and bubble up to the forefront. Your fists clench before the all-out assault, and the moment the drums

Wednesday, October 30, 2013 Alex De Vore

Vote Punk

Five reasons to be at the upcoming VFW show

Music Features Shows that take place at our local Veterans of Foreign Wars hall are often some of the coolest around but, unfortunately, are not always well attended.

Tuesday, October 22, 2013 Alex De Vore

Mi First

You need Ben Wright’s new solo album to live

Music Features Sometimes it’s hard to remember that the parts which make up a whole can be every bit as powerful when left to their own devices. Yes, multiple heads are often better than one, but when one of these

Wednesday, October 16, 2013 Alex De Vore

Visible Sounds

Music Features I’m not sure if anyone else has said it, but the AHA Festival kicked some serious ass. I know, I know—it was weeks ago, but the day was so beautiful and the tunes were so righteous that something

Wednesday, October 9, 2013 Alex De Vore

State of the Union

Musical goings on about town

Music Features Even though I officially gave up on Rolling Stone years ago after reading through a Britney Spears review that in my opinion was so obviously bought and paid for I could never trust the publication ever again

Tuesday, October 1, 2013 Alex De Vore
 
« Prev 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 Next »
 
Close
Close
Close